We strongly support the Boy Scouts of America current prohibition on open homosexuality and retaining it without revision.  Nearly 70 percent of BSA troops are hosted by churches and religious institutions.  Upholding traditional morality is vital for sustaining this partnership, for protecting Scout members, and for ensuring BSA has a strong future.  A proposal from the BSA board to prohibit “discrimination” based on “sexual orientation or preference” for BSA members potentially would open the Scouts to a wide range of open sexual expressions.  In our current culture, it is more important than ever for our churches to protect and provide moral nurture for young people and for the Scouts.  We implore members of the upcoming BSA Council to affirm the BSA’s present policy, which the U.S. Supreme Court has affirmed, and which has served BSA well.

(Titles are for identification only.)


Bishop David C. Anderson, Sr.
President, American Anglican Council


Sara L. Anderson
Executive Vice President
Bristol House, Ltd. (United Methodist)


Randy Alcorn,
Director of Eternal Perspective Ministries


The Rev. Canon Phil Ashey
Chief Operating & Development Officer
American Anglican Council


Doug Beacham
Presiding Bishop, Int’l Pentecostal Holiness Church


Dr. Robert D. Benne (Lutheran)
Jordan Trexler Professor Emeritus
and Research Associate
Religion and Philosophy, Roanoke College


David K. Bernard
General Superintendent
United Pentecostal Church International


Dr. Robert H. Blackburn
Past Chairman, National Association of Covenanting Congregations


The Rev. John Bradosky, Bishop
The North American Lutheran Church


Rev. Dr. Gemechis Desta Buba
Assistant to the Bishop for Missions,
North American Lutheran Church


Galen Carey
National Association of Evangelicals


Pastor Mark C. Chavez
General Secretary, North American Lutheran Church


Nancy Clark
President, Evangelical Women Leaders of the National Association of Evangelicals


The Rev. Sue Cyre
Executive Director of Presbyterians for Faith, Family and Ministry (PFFM)


The Most Reverend Robert Duncan,
Archbishop, The Anglican Church in North America


Dr. Anthony Esolen, Providence College


Dr. Jim Garlow
Senior Pastor; Chairman, Renewing American Leadership


Pastor Matthew Harrison
President, The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod


Doug Harvey, Executive Director
Disciple Heritage Fellowship


Rev. Charles Huckaby,
Dean, Western Classis of the Calvin Synod Conference United Church of Christ Term 2010 – 2013


Clyde M. Hughes
Bishop/General Overseer
International Pentecostal Church of Christ


Bishop Harry R. Jackson
Presiding of the International Communion of Evangelical Churches.


Dr. Jeffrey Jeremiah
Stated Clerk
Evangelical Presbyterian Church


Bishop David Kendall
The Free Methodist Church – USA


James M. Kushiner
Executive Director, The Fellowship of St. James


Dr. Richard Land
Southern Baptist Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission


John Lomperis
Director, United Methodist Action


Alex McFarland
Director for Christian Worldview and Apologetics
Senator Patricia Miller
Executive Director, Confessing Movement (United Methodist)


R. Albert Mohler, Jr., President
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary


Bob Morrison
Secretary, REVIVE! (Iowa United Methodist renewal)


Rev. Dr. Mary Holder Naegeli
Minister-at-Large, San Francisco Presbytery; Moderator of the Presbyterian Coalition


Thomas C. Oden
United Methodist theologian
Director, Center for Early African Christianity
Eastern University


Rev. William Owens Sr.
President, Coalition of African American Pastors


Dr. Eric Patterson
Dean, Robertson School of Government

Regent University”


Dr. Bob Phillips
Senior Pastor;
Encourager Church, Houston
Co-Founder, Kairos Journal


Leon J. Podles
Crossland Foundation


Dr. Steve Riggle
Senior Pastor; Grace Church, Houston
President, Grace International

Dr. Mark E. Roberts
Publisher, Word & Spirit Press (Pentecostal/Charismatic)

Bishop David Roller
The Free Methodist Church – USA


Rev. Kevin C. Rudolph
National Covenant Association of Churches
Windwood Presbyterian Church


Dr. Rick Scarborough
Founder and President, Vision America Action


The Rev. Dr. Frederick J. Schumacher
Executive Director, American Lutheran Publicity Bureau


Charles G. Scot
General Bishop of the Pentecostal Church of God


The Rev. W. Stevens Shipman
Director, Lutheran Coalition for Renewal


The Rev. Paul Stallsworth
President, Taskforce of United Methodists on Abortion and Sexuality


David M. Stanley
Director, Institute on Religion and Democracy
Chairman, United Methodist Action Steering Committee
Co-Chair, REVIVE! (Iowa United Methodist renewal)


John Stonestreet
Speaker and Author for Breakpoint and Summit Ministries


Bishop Ray Sutton
Ecumenical Officer, Anglican Church in North America


Eric Teetsel
Executive Director, Manhattan Declaration
Mark Tooley
President, Institute on Religion & Democracy


Bishop Matthew Thomas
The Free Methodist Church – USA

The Rev. Dr. David Wendel
Assistant to the Bishop for Ministry and Ecumenism
The North American Lutheran Church


Dr. Luder Whitlock, Jr.
Interim President of Knox Theological Seminary.


Mark Williams
General Overseer, Church of God, Cleveland, Tennessee


Bishop Ronald Wilson
General Superintendent
Congregational Holiness Church


Dr. George O. Wood
General Superintendent
General Council of the Assemblies of God